Supreme Court refuses to address same-sex marriage

Amanda Hoskins

The Supreme Court made the decision Monday to not address the legal cases for same-sex marriage in individual states, according to CNN. This means states will get to decide whether or not to allow same-sex marriage, according to NBC. Men and women in more than 11 states may be able to get married because a number of states were pending the Supreme Court decision. Appeals were rejected in Virginia, Oklahoma, Utah, Wisconsin and Indiana prior. But now, these delays on marriages have come to an end, according to NBC. Just hours after the decision by the Supreme Court couples in some states began applying for marriage, according to CNN.