Make ‘Plans’ to check out new Death Cab disc

Michelle Collins

Most college students spend their time being confused with two things: life and love. Death Cab for Cutie gives solace to college students everywhere with their latest album, “Plans.” The 11 tracks on the record express fears of the future, as well as the ups and downs of growing up and falling in love.

Death Cab for Cutie consists of four band members, including Benjamin Gibbard, Nicholas Harmer, Jason McGerr and Christopher Walla.

Unlike the overly-manufactured pop bands heard on the radio today, Death Cab for Cutie’s music is a more solid and original kind of pop. Walla produced, recorded and mixed the album, while Gibbard penned the lyrics.

If you are looking for an album to play at your next party, do not buy this record. However, if you are in the mood to relax and ponder life’s meaning for a little while, “Plans” is the album you want to listen to. Tracks like, “I Will Follow You into the Dark,” and “Brothers on a Hotel Bed,” have the most peaceful melodies, and “Different Names for the Same Thing” is chocked full of some beautiful instrumentation.

One track that really stands out is “What Sarah Said,” where Gibbard writes about a friend who is currently a patient at a hospital. The tone of the song strongly hints that his friend probably will not make it:

“Amongst the vending machines and year-old magazines in a place where we only say goodbye / It stung like a violent wind that our memories depend on a faulty camera in our minds.”

Death Cab for Cutie shows their true musical talents on this album, through their deep, emotional lyrics and strong, solid instrumentals. Hopefully, Death Cab for Cutie will set the new standards for pop music.

“Plans” is in stores now, and Death Cab for Cutie has scheduled a seven-week fall tour that kicks off Oct. 3 in Vancouver, British Columbia.