Jane Lynch and company bring it at the Emmys

Rachelly Then

Viewers who thought they weren’t missing much during Sunday night’s Emmy Awards were mistaken.

As usual, the show opened with the hostess, Ms. Jane Lynch herself. “Glee’s” favorite psychotic gym teacher began the night by declaring herself the most logical hostess, since she appears “‘manish’ to women and ‘womanish’ to men.”

Top winners of the night included “Mad Men,” winning Outstanding Drama Series for the fourth consecutive year.“Modern Family” was also a top winner of the night. The family-friendly series won for Outstanding Comedy Series. “Modern Family” favorites Julie Bowen and Ty Burrell also took home Emmys for Outstanding Supporting Actress and Outstanding Supporting Actor.

On the acting side, actress Kate Winslet won the award for Best Leading Actress in a Miniseries/Movie for her work in “Mildred Pierce.” During an endearing acceptance speech, Winslet thanked her ‘mum.’

While hilarity was induced earlier in the broadcast when another leading actress category was announced, this time for Leading Actress in a Comedy Series. In what seemed to be complete spontaneity, all the nominees for leading comedic actress ran up on stage when their names were called up and stood side by side with each other while holding hands. In a fit of complete pageantry, Miss America style, Melissa McCarthy won the Emmy and was crowned in front of the audience

Other evening highlights included the men of “Saturday Night Live.” The Lonely Island sang renditions of their sure to be classics: “Captain Jack Sparrow,” “Three Way” and of course, “I Just Had Sex.” Late night comedians Jimmy Kimmel and Jimmy Fallon wrestled onstage, and Charlie Sheen proved to be a well-behaved presenter after days of hype on celebrity news websites.

All in all, the typically straight-laced Emmys proved to be fun and youthful. Even celebrity blogger Perez Hilton remarked on how the network change from NBC to FOX Network may have had something to do with the sudden lighthearted change of this years broadcast.